Rediscover

My responsibly-written point of view on bleisure, branding, career, corporate communications, entertainment, journalism, leadership, management, public relations, social media

WTF happened with the U.S. presidential elections?

 

It has been a week since the majority of the world got shocked with the turn of events in the November 8 US presidential election.

All right, both candidates are despicable. Flawed. But one is more despicable over the other. More flawed over the other.

Yet, the electoral votes were for now President-elect Donald Trump. But as of this writing, Hillary Clinton is still amassing the popular votes.

Why the result of the US election matters to me? Why it matters to a Filipino like me who has never been to US yet?

Because the election is one of the most anticipated, if not highly-anticipated happening in the world, with US as an ally, as a “friend” to most nations of the world, the Philippines included.

Because the campaign promises of Trump threaten immigrants (“the Filipino immigrant population is the third largest foreign-born population from Asia, after India and China”). And I have friends, relatives in the US who are working hard there, living decently.

Because I worked in an outsourcing/offshoring industry (at American iconic company IBM), and I have family members and friends who are still working in the industry (and these are American companies also). And they fear that Trump’s pronouncements of keeping the jobs in America would mean a massive job loss for us, and other countries whose outsourcing/offshoring industry highly contribute to their overall economic growth.

Because I am a woman. And I am working my a** off to break that glass ceiling. And a woman championing women’s welfare, causes, is a dream most women (at least in my network) thought with Clinton becoming the first female US president.

So I am appalled to read a remark of a personal financial guru who said, to paraphrase, “his two cents’ worth,” that he has no opinion about Trump winning the election because he is a Filipino, not American, and Trump is America’s president-elect, not here.

But whoever won the US election, his or her administration’s policies would certainly impact countries that it has ties with. The Philippines included. Of course, our government officials now are doing their very best to allay such fears related with the Trump presidency and what it means for our country.

Anyhow, there are a lot of reasons why #ImWithHer. And many voters also are for Clinton (considering the popular votes, plus the global sentiment toward her acing this election). But it did not happen for Clinton.

But I understand as well why Trump won the elections; why there are those who voted for him.

So she conceded. And her speech (video above) was the most gracious, real you can hear after a vile campaign season. But she wished Trump well, and “offered to work with him on behalf of our country. I hope that he will be a successful president for all Americans.”

And when she said sorry that they did not win the election, I got teary-eyed.

And to admit that her defeat is painful, filled buckets of tears from all over. “I know how disappointed you feel, because I feel it too. And so do tens of millions of Americans who invested their hopes and dreams in this effort. This is painful, and it will be for a long time. But I want you to remember this: Our campaign was never about one person or even one election. It was about the country we love—and about building an America that’s hopeful, inclusive, and big-hearted.”

But as her critics commend her as well, Clinton is a woman of steel. She will bounce back sooner than we think. “And to all the young people in particular, I want you to hear this. I’ve spent my entire adult life fighting for what I believe in. I’ve had successes and I’ve had setbacks—sometimes really painful ones. Many of you are at the beginning of your careers. You will have successes and setbacks, too.”

“This loss hurts. But please, please never stop believing that fighting for what’s right is worth it. It’s always worth it. And we need you keep up these fights now and for the rest of your lives,” we hear you, HRC.

But as what she asked Americans, and a conciliatory statement sent to the world who watched this election, “Donald Trump is going to be our president. We owe him an open mind and the chance to lead.”

OK, President-elect. Do a damn good job.

Until next week for a new post. Email ma.lynda.corpuz[a]gmail.com for feedback.