Rediscover

My responsibly-written point of view on bleisure, branding, career, corporate communications, entertainment, journalism, leadership, management, public relations, social media

Why continuous learning is important

Never stop learning, check those you need in this week-long opportunity to learn

Never stop learning, check those you need in this week-long opportunity to learn, screen grab from https://learning.linkedin.com/week-of-learning

 

Never stop learning.

That is so true, especially if you are gunning for a higher position in a very hierarchical workplace. Or aspires to have a business of your own, and grow a team to help you realize your business goals.

When I was at IBM, I have had identified early on that I wanted to become a people manager in a branding, corporate communications, marketing role. Thus, on top of leadership trainings my people manager identified for me, I also pursued learning opportunities aligned with my interests, with my identified career path in a multinational corporation like IBM.

Then, as our extra-curricular activity within our team, I lead the initiative called “knowledge sharing sessions,” where we were encouraged to share our knowledge and skills on topics or interests outside of our work scope. Such initiative added to the THINK40 program of the company (or the required 40 hours a year spent on professional and personal development).

I truly appreciate such learning and development (L&D) offerings of a company, which sadly, lacking in most companies I have worked for (and these were Filipino-owned and managed companies). Whatever I know now, particularly in terms of people management, I learned more strategically through such L&D opportunities I had at IBM (but I also acknowledge the lessons learned from the kindest bosses I have had over the years). And all those lessons learned I am able to apply in my succeeding roles that required me to manage a team — or make a team work as a team.

But I did not stop there.

And you should not stop learning, too. Or start now if you really have not given it a thought.

Yes, it is true we learn day-in and day-out in terms of how we accomplish the tasks required of our work.

But the value of completing a formal L&D course or certification is something else. Or finishing your your master’s or PhD degree. It adds golden points to your overall performance at work. And if you are leading a team in a startup for example, with L&D program still in the works, organize knowledge sharing sessions so your team can also learn what you have learned.

And speaking of learning (and this is not a paid post, I simply grab any opportunity to learn, and so I am sharing this information with you), professional networking site LinkedIn will be holding a week-long of learning opportunities from October 24 to 30. So if you have not been on LinkedIn for a while, now is a good time to do so.

It can be recalled that LinkedIn acquired the L&D site lynda.com in April last year, which analysts viewed as the best $1.5 billion LinkedIn spent. lynda.com (no relation to me) was a a leading online learning company teaching business, technology, and creative skills to help people achieve their professional goals was co-founded in 1995 by Lynda Weinman and Bruce Heavin. Thus, LinkedIn now has such wealth of L&D courses its members can choose from.

So for this week (and forward should you decide to upgrade your LinkedIn to a premium account), identify what courses you would like to avail, and the site would have a recommended list for you. Or you can avail of a learning based on your skill set, and it has the list of the top skills for 2016 and identified L&D courses to take.

Best of all, this week-long training is free.

Spending minimum an hour to learn something new, or advance your current skill set is a way to guarantee your growth in and out of the workplace.

And as Russian playwright and short story writer, Anton Pavlovich Chekhov apparently said, ““Wisdom … comes not from age, but from education and learning.”

Until next week for a new post. Email ma.lynda.corpuz[a]gmail.com for feedback.

